11.6 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Record Prize Money Announced for 2024 Africa Cup of Nations Winners.

By John Adiasi

Record Prize Money Announced for 2024 Africa Cup of Nations Winners.

In an exciting development for African football, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed that the winners of the 2024 Africa Cup of Nations will receive a record-breaking prize money of $7 Million USD (€6.4 million euros). This amount represents a significant increase of 40 percent compared to the previous edition, where Senegal emerged victorious in Cameroon.

The runners-up of the tournament, which will be hosted by the Ivory Coast from January 13 to February 11, will not be left empty-handed either, as they will be awarded a substantial sum of $4 Million USD.

Additionally, the losing semi-finalists will each receive $2.5 Million USD, while the quarter-finalists will be granted $1.3 Million USD each.

The statement did not provide further details regarding the distribution of prize money for other positions.

The Ivory Coast, the host nation, along with 23 other countries, including the record 7-time champions Egypt, will be vying for glory in this highly anticipated tournament.

The Ivory Coast, a two-time champion, will kick off the competition on January 13 against Guinea-Bissau, a team yet to secure a victory in their three previous appearances.

The match will take place at the 60,000-seat Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Abidjan.

With such a substantial increase in prize money, the 2024 Africa Cup of Nations promises to be a fiercely contested tournament, attracting top talent from across the continent.

Football fans can expect thrilling matches and intense competition as teams battle it out for the coveted title.

Latest news

Related news