25 C
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Federal Universities and Polytechnics Governing Councils To Be Inaugurated On July 4

The Governing Councils of federal universities, polytechnics, and other tertiary institutions will be inaugurated on July 4, 2024.

The Acting Vice Chancellor of the University of Abuja, Prof. Aisha Maikudi, announced this during her acceptance speech on Monday as she assumed office.

A total of 560 individuals have been appointed to the governing councils and boards of federal government-owned tertiary institutions.

President Bola Tinubu approved the reconstitution of these Governing Councils and Boards for federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education.

Earlier, Nnamdi Mbaeri, the Permanent Secretary, General Services in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, stated that this approval aims to ensure the effective management of Nigerian tertiary institutions nationwide.

For the University of Ibadan, Chief Bisi Akande has been appointed as the Chairman of the governing council, with board members including Alexander Ajipe, Nelson Alapa, Ifeoma Nwankwo, and Prof. Emmanuel Alo.

Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) will chair the governing council of the University of Lagos. The council members are Bello Kumo, Prof. Idowu Mark, Niyi Akande, and Bola Njoku.

Isa Yuguda will lead the board of the National Open University, with council members Goddy Etta, Yomi Balogun, Deborah Apah, and Hingah Biem.

Siyan Oyeweso has been appointed as the head of the governing council of Obafemi Awolowo University, along with members Edward Sarki, Joseph Abaagu, Wahaab Owokoniran, and Abubakar Kachaalla.

Adebayo Shittu, Muiz Banire, and Senator Florence Ita Giwa have been appointed as chairpersons of the governing boards for David Umahi University of Medicine in Ebonyi State, Federal University of Transportation in Katsina State, and Federal Polytechnic in Ugep, Cross River State, respectively.

Latest news

Related news