Shittu gets Nigeria recall

Defender Danny Shittu has been recalled to the Nigeria squad ahead of next month's African Nations Cup.  Osaze Odemwingie has been ignored in what could signal the beginning of the end of the West Brom forward's international career.

Also out is left back Taye Taiwo, who has also been overlooked since a Nations Cup qualifier against Rwanda.  Shittu has not been involved with the Super Eagles since Samson Siasia's last game in charge, a friendly against Ghana in which he was called up as a back-up.

But with recent defensive frailties, Stephen Keshi has called up the 32-year-old to bolster his defensive options.  However, with a surfeit of attacking riches, Keshi appears to have decided against the outspoken Odemwingie.

The squad is composed of 14 domestic league professionals and 18 from the foreign legion. The squad will be led by skipper Joseph Yobo, who has appeared five previous tournaments from 2002 to 2010 and is Nigeria's record international player with 89 caps.

All 16 participating countries have until midnight of January 9 to submit their final list of 23 players to CAF.

NFF executive committee member Chris Green explained that 14 home boys will travel to Portugal to be joined by 10 overseas-based professionals for the clash with Catalonia on January 2, with the remaining eight foreign-based stars to link up with the squad on January 4.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (FC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Danny Shittu (Millwall FC, England); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Raheem Lawal (Adana Demirspor, Turkey); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Rabiu Ibrahim (Celtic FC, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Uche Kalu (Rizespor, Turkey); Bright Dike (Portland Timbers, USA); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle FC, England); Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Author: nmmin

Share This Post On