Election Update

National Assembly Upsets, PDP with reduced majority. President
Jonathan says he has fulfilled his promise to conduct free and fair

The ruling party Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) going by the results of the National
Assembly elections so far declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission
(INEC) is poised to have a reduced majority. The ruling party lost its National Assembly
seats in many states, in the South-west, going by the official results released.

High profile casualties from the ruling party include Hajia Maryam, daughter of late President
Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, in the Katsina federal constituency, she was defeated by CPC’s
Moh’d Tukur Abba Sada with 45,573 to 26,573 votes, outgoing speaker of the Federal House of
Representatives, Dimeji Bankole was also defeated in his Abeokuta constituency

The ruling party lost most of its seats to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) in the South-west and
Edo, and the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) in some Northern states, specifically Niger,
Katsina and Kaduna.

PDP, which controls 83 seats in the current Senate, looks set to lose its absolute majority having lost
to CPC, which won all the three seats in Katsina State, the home of the party’s presidential candidate,
Maj. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari.

ACN, has also taken seats from PDP in the South-west, thereby emerging the biggest gainer with 13
seats, compared to the nine it currently has.

ACN took one seat from the PDP in Edo, two from PDP in Oyo and all three in Osun, while PDP also
lost all three seats to the Labour Party (LP) in Ondo State.

CPC did not sweep the North-west as widely predicted, with the PDP going strong in Jigawa, Kano,
Sokoto and Kebbi, while the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) did well in Zamfara State, contrary to

Mark said in Otukpo, Benue State shortly after he was declared winner, that he owed his victory to
God and the good people of Benue South. He polled a total of 147,923 to defeat his rival General
Lawrence Onoja of ACN who scored 79,433.

In the Senate election, Senator Ibrahim Ida (Central) lost to Ahmed Sani Stores. Senator Kanti Bello
(North) lost to Senator Abdu Yandoma, while Senator Abu Ibrahim won Katsina South.

Senator Ibrahim won by 324,652 votes to defeat Tukur Jikamshi of the PDP who garnered 198,127
votes for the runner-up position.

PDP was declared winner in two of the three senatorial seats contested for in Anambra State.
According to the results released by the commission in the three zonal collation centres in the states,
the PDP candidate in Anambra North, Prince John Emeka, was declared winner. He polled 60,788
votes to beat former senator and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Senator Joy
Emodi, who came second with 54,060 votes. In Anambra South, PDP was again declared winner

with 53,315 votes, while the APGA candidate, Chief Chuma Nzeribe scored 43,789 votes to come
second. Both candidates of PDP in the South,

Mr Andy Uba and Nicholas Ukachukwu claimed victory making INEC to declare the party as the
winner. The case to determine who will represent the party is still in court.

In Anambra central where both the ACN candidate, Dr. Chris Ngige, and his APGA counterpart, Prof.
Dora Akunyili, contested alongside Senator Annie Okonkwo of the Accord Party and Ogugua Okoye
of the PDP, the announcement of the result was stalemated.

The Senatorial Returning officer for the zone, Alex Anene, ran away from the INEC Collation centre
in Awka after ACN agents stood their grounds that the results would not be announced because of
alleged manipulation of results by APGA in Anaocha Council area which is one of the council areas
in the zone.

Election Results based on INEC release on 10th April 2011

Abia South PDP Enyinnaya Abaribe
Abia North PDP Uche Chukwumerije
Abia Central PDP Nkechi Nwaogu
Adamawa South PDP Ahmed Hassan Barat
Adamaw North PDP Bindawa Jibrilla
Mrs. Helen Esuene, PDP South South
Alloysius Etuk PDP North west
Anambra South PDP Andy Ubah
Anambra North PDP Prince John Emeka
Benue North west PDP Bernabas Gemade
Benue South PDP David Mark
Ebonyi North PDP Christopher Chukwuma
Edo North ACN Domingo Alaba Obende
Edo South ACN Ehigie Uzamere
Edo Central PDP Odion Ugbesia
Enugu East Hon. Gilbert Nnaji, PDP
Enugu North Senator Ayogu Eze, PDP
Enugu West Senator Ike Ekweremadu, PDP

House of Representatives seats
Hon. Ofor Chukwuegbo, PDP
Amb. Kingsley Ebenyi, PDP
Hon. Patrick Asadu, PDP
Bar. Tobias Okechukwu, PDP
Hon. Ogbuefi Ozomgbachi, PDP

Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, PDP
Hon. Peace Nnaji, PDP
Mrs. Stella Ngwu, PDP
Hon. Philip Aduda, PDP,
Musa Abari, CPC

House of Reps
Isah Egah Dobi, PDP,
Zephaniah Jisallo PDP
Gombe Central PDP Mohammed Danjuma Goje
Kema Chuikwe PDP
Senator Osita Izunaso PDP
Matthew Ifeanyi Nwagwu PDP

House of Reps
Mbaitoli/Ikeduru, PDP
Ideato North and South, PDP
Isu, Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele, PDP
Oru West/Oguta/Ohaji, PDP
CPC won all 3 Senatorial Seats
Kwara Central Dr. Bukola Saraki, PDP
Kwara North Alhaji Muhammed Shaaba Lafiaji, PDP
Kwara South Senator Senator Simeon Ajibola, PDP
Kebbi North Isa Galaudu PDP

House of Representatives
Dr. Ali Ahmad, PDP,
Alhaji Moshood Mustapha, PDP,
Alhaji Zakari Muahmmed, PDP,
Hon. Ahman Pategi, PDP,
Dr. Rafiu Ibrahim, PDP
Lagos Central ACN Oluremi Tinubu
Lagos East ACN Gbenga Bareehu Ashafa
Lagos West ACN Ganiyu Solomon

House of Representatives:
Hon Dayo Bush Alebiosu, ACN
Mrs Jumoke Abidemi Okoya-Thoma ACN

Solomon Ewuga, CPC
Senator Suleiman Adokwe, PDP, Nasarawa South

House of Reps
Dr. Joseph Kigbu, PDP
Idris Yahuza, CPC
Ogun Central ACN Gbenga Obadara
Ogun East ACN Adegbenga Kaka
Ogun West ACN Akin Odunsi
Ondo North LP Robert Ajayi Boroffice
Ondo South LP Kunlere Boluwaji
Osun Central ACN Olusola Adeyeye
Osun East ACN Omoworare Babajide Christopher
Osun West ACN Mudashiru Oyetunde
Oyo Central ACN Ayoade Adeseun
Oyo South ACN Olufemi Lanlehin
House of Reps
Bitrus Kaze, PDP,
Mrs. Beni Lar, PDP,
Simon Mwankon, PDP,
Aminu Jonathan Punwet, PDP,
Innocent Tisel, PDP,
Idris Ahmed, ACN
House of Reps
Alhaji Saadu Nabunkari, PDP
Umar Muhammed Bature, PDP
Alhaji Abdullahi Muhammadu Wamakko, PDP
Aminu Shehu Shagari, PDP
Alhaji Isa Saliu Bashar, PDP
Alhaji Kabir Marafa Achida, PDP

Author: nmmin

Share This Post On