Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission ,INEC ,Monday evening declared
President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party , PDP , as the winner of the
presidential election held across the country last Saturday

Jega who declared Jonathan as winner of the poll at about 8.34 pm at a news briefing in Abuja said
the PDP candidate stand elected as President having satisfied the constitutional reguirements for the

The INEC Chairman said Jonathan apart from scoring the highest number of votes in the poll also
scored more than the mandatory 25 percent of the total number of votes cast in two third of the 36
states of the federation and FCT

According to him,Jonathan apart from scoring the highest number of votes cast-22,495,187-also
scored more than 25 percent of the total votes cast in 31 states and FCT

Jega who announced the results in his capacity as Chief Returning Officer of the presidential election
as provided for by both the nation's constitution and the Electoral Act said other candidates and
their total number of votes include Nuhu Ribadu of Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN , [2,079,151]
,Ibrahim Shekarau of All Nigeria Peoples Party ,ANPP ,[917,012] ,and Muhammadu Buhari of the
Congress for Progressive Change ,CPC ,who came a distant second with 12,214,853 votes.

Author: nmmin

Share This Post On